Back to top

Transportation

Getting around Singapore is easy, thanks to a systematic and integrated land transport master plan that incorporates an efficient rail and bus system, a carefully designed road and traffic structure, and controlled car ownership.

Driving in Singapore

Cars in Singapore are on right-hand drive, driven on the left side of the road. Some of the local traffic rules include the mandatory fastening of seat belts, avoiding the bus lane during certain hours, and using mobile phones while driving only with a hands-free device. Visit the Singapore Police Force website for a complete guide to local traffic regulations and penalties.

In land scarce Singapore, the government imposes measures to curb car ownership and usage. The Land Transport Authority (LTA) administers the Vehicle Quota System to control the number of vehicles on the road and allows only a fixed number of new vehicles via the release of Certificates of Entitlement (COEs) every month.

Buyers of new cars need to bid for a COE, which is valid for 10 years from the date of registration. The LTA One Motoring website provides you with all the important information on vehicle ownership, from bidding for a COE to registering your vehicle and paying road taxes.

Leasing might be an attractive alternative to buying a car, especially if you are in Singapore for a fixed-term contract. If you travel in and out of Singapore extensively, rental or car-sharing may be a viable option.

Driving in Singapore has its unique quirks. One of these is the Electronic Road Pricing (ERP), a toll collected electronically via a network of gantries on several expressways and major roads. The ERP was devised to ease congestion on roads, especially during peak hours. All vehicles in Singapore have an In-vehicle Unit (IU) installed, which holds a cashcard. To use roads with the ERP gantry in operation, simply insert your cash card into the IU and the fee will be deducted automatically. The cashcard may be topped up at most convenience stores and petrol stations.

Many carparks in shopping malls and buildings conveniently make use of the IU and cashcard to deduct parking charges. Some public carparks however, especially open-air carparks and curbside parking along roads, utilise the coupon parking system. Parking coupons come in denominations of SGD 0.50, 1 and 2 (for overnight parking) and are sold in booklets of 10 or 20 coupons for each denomination. Just peel off the appropriate tabs for date and time and display the coupons on the dashboard of your car. To find out where to purchase the coupons and how to use them, click here.

Driver’s licence

Non-Singaporeans who have been in Singapore for more than 12 months, or who have decided to become Permanent Residents, will need to convert their foreign driving licences into a Singapore driving licence. A pass in the Basic Theory Test held by the Traffic Police is mandatory – this can be taken at any driving centre. Then apply for a licence conversion at any of these driving centres:

Taxis

Taxis are readily available on Singapore streets, from a taxi stand, a phone or internet booking. You can also flag one from the side of the road, except in the city where you have to board and alight at taxi stands only. Fares too, are relatively cheap compared to other major cities in the world although there are various surcharges for ERP, peak hours, midnight, public holidays and certain locations such as Singapore Changi International Airport and Singapore Expo. Fares are all metered and surcharges are listed upfront.

For a small fee, booking a taxi is a convenient way of ensuring you have a taxi just when you need it. You can reach the following taxi companies at these numbers:

ComfortDelGro Corporation Limited   6552 1111
Premier Taxis Pte Ltd   6476 8880
SMRT Taxis Pte Ltd   6555 8888
Trans-Cab Services Pte Ltd   6287 6666

For greater comfort and premium service, you may wish to book an MPV, London cab, limousine cab or a Chrysler taxi from SMRT. These cabs are available for hire for one-way or multiple transfers, even per-hour charters.

MRT

The Singapore Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) is by far one of the easiest and quickest ways to get around Singapore. Comprising four lines and 89 stations, the comprehensive network spans across most of Singapore. The trains are safe, clean and reliable, arriving every three to eight minutes from 5.30am to 12.30am daily.

The Light Rail Transit (LRT) is a feeder rail service of 14 stations, serving the Bukit Panjang and Choa Chu Kang estates.

Single trip tickets or the more convenient EZ-link card may be used on the MRT and LRT. The EZ-link card is a stored value card, allowing you multiple trips on trains and buses with rebates. Tickets and EZ-link cards may be purchased from any MRT or LRT station.

For more details on MRT routes, fares and travel times, visit the SMRT website.

此网站使用cookie。 通过使用本网站,您已允许我们继续使用cookie来改善您的用户体验。您的隐私对我们来说很重要。 要禁用cookie,您可以阅读我们的 隐私政策 以获取更多信息。

Back to top

交通

由于新加坡非常注重陆路交通整体规划的系统性和整体性,加上高效运行的铁路和公交系统、设计巧妙的公路和交通系统、以及严格限制私人购车的政策,因此人们日常出行非常轻松便捷。

在新加坡驾车

在新加坡驾车出行要求车辆一律右驾左行。新加坡的当地交通规则严格规范驾车者的行为,其中包括驾车时须系好安全带 、特定时段不得使用公交车专用车道,以及驾车时如需使用手机一定要配备车载免提装置等。想要了解有关当地交通规则和违规处罚的所有信息,请登陆新加坡警察部队网站查询。

由于新加坡土地资源匮乏,因此政府对私人购买和使用汽车采取了一定限制。陆路交通管理局(LTA)通过车辆配额系统(Vehicle Quota System)有效控制了路上行驶的机动车数量,并且每月仅向固定数量的新车发放拥车证(COE)。

购买新车的车主须通过竞拍方式才能购得拥车证。拥车证的有效期为10年,自车辆注册登记之日起计算。陆路交通管理局(LTA)网站提供了所有关于购买车辆的信息,从竞拍拥车证到车辆注册和缴纳公路税,一应俱全。

除了买车之外,租车或许是一个不错的选择,特别适合与新加坡雇主签订固定期限合同的雇员。如果您打算把新加坡好好玩个遍,无论是租车还是拼车旅游都是您的理想选择。

新加坡为了有效缓解高峰时段的道路拥堵状况采取了多种创新措施。其中就包括电子道路收费(ERP)系统,该系统通过遍布全市各大高速公路和主干道上的电子道路收费闸门向车辆收取过路费。新加坡的车辆统一安装了用于插入现金卡的车载读卡器(IU),如果您在出行途中会经过电子道路收费闸门,您只需将现金卡插入车载读卡器中,相应费用便会从现金卡中自动扣除。大多数便利店和加油站均提供现金卡充值服务。

在大多数的购物中心和大厦停车场停车时,您只需要将现金卡插入车载读卡器中,停车费便会从现金卡中自动扣除,非常方便。不过,部分公共停车场(尤其是露天停车场和路边停车场)的停车系统一般采用停车券(新加坡人俗称“停车固本”)缴费。停车券的面值分为0.50新币 、 1新币和2新币(通宵停车)不等,每种面值的停车券均需按套购买,每套共计10张或20张停车券。在使用停车券时,只需根据停车时间撕下适当面值的停车券并摆放在仪表盘位置即可。想要了解停车券的购买地点和使用方法,请点击这里

驾照

在新加坡居住满12个月或有意成为永久居民的非新加坡公民都需要将其持有的外国驾照转换成新加坡驾照,但在驾照转换前须通过由交通警察局举行的基础理论考试。您可以前往各个驾校参加该项考试,考试通过后便能在下列驾校办理驾照转换的申请手续:

出租车

在新加坡叫出租车(新加坡人俗称“德士”)通常非常方便。您既可以去出租车扬招点等车,也可以电话/网上预约订车,亦或是站在路边拦车(中心商业区除外)。与世界上的其他大城市相比,新加坡的出租车费相对比较便宜,但车费中可能会包括电子道路收费(ERP)、高峰时段、午夜时段、公共节假日等附加费,以及在新加坡樟宜国际机场、新加坡展览中心等特定地区叫车也要额外收费。所有出租车统一打表计费,附加费往往列在所有费用的最前面。

新加坡拥有先进的车队管理系统,从乘客拨打电话叫车到出租车抵达往往只需要几分钟的时间,而乘客只需另行支付一笔金额不大的叫车费即可。各大出租车公司的叫车电话具体如下:

ComfortDelGro Corporation Limited 6552 1111
Trans-Cab Services Pte Ltd 6555 3333
SMRT Taxis Pte Ltd 6555 8888
Prime Car Rental & Taxi Services Pte Ltd 6363 6888

如果您希望轻松享受舒适的驾车之旅和一流的代驾服务,那就不妨预订一辆豪华出租车。您不仅有机会享受单程、多程租车服务,甚至还能尽享按小时计费的包车服务。

地铁(MRT)

在新加坡,乘坐地铁出行是目前最便捷、最快速的出行方式之一。新加坡地铁共有四条线路,设有89个站点,覆盖了新加坡的大部分地区。地铁列车不但安全可靠,而且整洁卫生,运行间隔为3-8分钟,每天的运营时间为早上5:30到凌晨12:30。

轻轨(LRT)列车则负责提供支线交通服务,设有14个站点,主要为武吉班让(Bukit Panjang)和蔡厝港(Choa Chu Kang)的居民提供服务。

乘坐地铁和轻轨时,您既可以购买单程票,也可以使用更为便利的易通卡(EZ-link card)。易通卡是一种可在乘坐地铁/轻轨列车和公交时使用的储值卡,如果多次换乘,还能享受换乘优惠。车票和易通卡可在任何地铁或轻轨车站购买。

想要了解有关地铁路线、费用和运营时间的更多信息,请登陆SMRT网站