Back to top

Education

Education has always been one of the pillars of Singapore society. As a nation whose only resource is its people, Singapore takes education very seriously.

It is assuring to know that the quality of schooling here is among the best in the world – our system and textbooks have been adopted and adapted from by other countries.

Read more details on the Ministry of Education (MOE) website.

Public Schools

Singapore provides a well-structured education for all levels, from pre-school to post-graduate. English is the medium of education in Singapore but one of the unique competitive advantages of the nation’s education system is its bilingual policy. In addition to learning English, students study their mother tongue at school, such as Malay, Mandarin or Tamil. This reinforces Singapore’s cosmopolitan position in the heart of Asia and entrenches the students in their cultural heritage.

Singapore’s public schools welcome international students. MOE conducts an annual admissions exercise during September/October for new international students who wish to join public schools.

Over the years, Singapore’s education system has grown in diversity and depth. Today, there is a wide variety of educational pathways available, to meet individual needs and talents. These include the Singapore Sports School, School of the Arts and the Yong Siew Toh Conservatory of Music.

For more information on entry to public schools, click here.

The local school year (below tertiary level) consists of four 10-week terms beginning on 2 January each year. There is a one-week vacation after the first and third terms, a four-week vacation at mid-year, and a six-week vacation at year-end.

Singapore’s public schools maintain high standards of teaching and learning. According to IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook 2015, Singapore was ranked among top 3 in the world for its educational system. Singapore was also ranked 1st in both Math and Science across 140 countries in World Economic Forum’s Global Competitiveness Report 2015-2016.

Foreign-System and Private Schools

While Singapore’s public school system is comprehensive and upholds high standards, expatriates can also choose to send their children to private or foreign-system schools.

There are more than 30 foreign-system or international schools in Singapore. Such schools may offer an education pathway and curriculum that are similar to those in your home country. This is especially beneficial if your children have been educated in a language other than English. Each school has its own admission criteria and enrolment has to be done early as demand is high.

Comprehensive information for international students can be found on the Ministry of Education (MOE) website here. A list of the foreign -system schools in Singapore can be found here.

You may also consider enrolling your children at one of the three home-grown international schools - ACS International, Hwa Chong International and SJI International. The three schools offer secondary and post-secondary education, leading to the International Baccalaureate qualification which is recognised in Ivy League universities.

Institutes of Higher Learning

Singapore currently has five autonomous universities. They are the National University of Singapore (NUS), Nanyang Technological University (NTU) Singapore Management University (SMU), Singapore University of Technology and Design (SUTD) and Singapore Institute of Technology. A graduate medical school, Duke-NUS Graduate Medical School Singapore, was also created through a partnership between Duke University School of Medicine and NUS to increase Singapore’s capacity to develop a vibrant biomedical hub.

Specialised institutions have also sprung up, both local and international. For instance, well-known business schools INSEADLASALLE College of the Arts and Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts (NAFA) provide specialised education in the arts, and the Digipen Institute of Technology focuses on world-class technology education.

In addition, polytechnics were also set up to train middle-level professionals, and the Institute of Technical Education was established as a post-secondary technical institution of excellence.

You may also choose to send your children to one of the over 300 private education institutions in Singapore. Private schools offer a large variety of courses, including language and professional programmes. When choosing a private school, do make sure it has proper accreditation. Established under the Private Education Act, the Council for Private Education (CPE) is a statutory board sanctioned with the legislative power to regulate the private education sector. In addition to its role as the sectoral regulator of private education institutions (PEIs), the CPE facilitates capability development efforts to uplift standards in the local private education industry.

For a list of the institutes of higher learning in Singapore, click here.

Pre-Schools and Kindergartens

Many parents in Singapore introduce their children to formal or partial education from a very young age. You will find a slew of centres catering to pre-school education, either by session or tied in with childcare services – often a necessity for households with two working parents. For a list of the preschools and kindergartens in Singapore, you may like to click here.

此网站使用cookie。 通过使用本网站,您已允许我们继续使用cookie来改善您的用户体验。您的隐私对我们来说很重要。 要禁用cookie,您可以阅读我们的 隐私政策 以获取更多信息。

Back to top

教育

教育一直以来都是新加坡社会的支柱之一。

新加坡深知,只有国民才是其唯一的财富。因此,新加坡非常重视教育。众所周知,新加坡的教学质量堪称世界一流 — 无论是教育体系还是教材都是博采众长、兼收并蓄,得到了其他国家的普遍认可。

点击新加坡教育部网站查看更多信息。

公立学校

新加坡本地学校(高等教育以下)每学年含四个学期,每学期10周,每年1月2号开学。第一学期和第三学期结束后各有一个星期的假期,每年的年中有四个星期的假期,年末有六个星期的假期。

新加坡的公立学校一直保持着高水准的教学质量。根据瑞士国际管理学院《2015世界竞争力年鉴》,新加坡在全球的教育体系排名中位列世界第三。此外,根据全球经济论坛针对世界142个国家发布的《2015-2016全球竞争力》报告,新加坡的数学和科学排名都位居世界第一。

新加坡的教学用语是英语,但其教育制度的一大独特竞争优势是双语教育。除了学习英语以外,学生还可以在学校学习自己的母语,如马来语、华语、泰米尔语等。这样一方面加强了新加坡在亚洲中心的国际性地位,另一方面也可以保证学生继承自己的文化传统。

新加坡公立学校的教学水准很高,因而越来越受到留学生们的青睐。新加坡大多数小学、中学和初级学院都可以接收国际学生。在每年的九、十月份,新加坡教育部(MOE)会为那些希望进入新加坡公立学校的国际学生举行一次统一入学考试。

近年来,新加坡的教育体制越来越多元化,也越来越丰富。不同类型的学校可以满足具有不同禀赋的学生的不同需求。例如:新加坡体育学院、新加坡艺术学院和新加坡杨秀桃音乐学院等。

希望就读新加坡政府学校的国际学生必须申请学生准证除非他们持有有效的家属准证、移民豁免令。

想要了解有关就读新加坡公立学校的更多信息,请点击这里

外国教育体系学校和私立学校

尽管新加坡公立学校具有世界一流的教学质量,而且内容包罗万象,但外籍人士仍然可以选择将孩子送进私立学校或外国教育体系学校就读。

新加坡有30多家外国教育体系学校(国际学校)。外国教育体系学校采用与学生母国类似的教育制度和课程。对于那些从小接受非英语教育的学生来说,这就大有裨益。每个学校都有不同的录取标准。

您可以在新加坡教育部网站上查询到有关国际学生的全面信息。想要查看新加坡外国教育体系学校的目录,请点击这里

最近,新加坡三所顶尖学校(英华国际中学华中国际学校圣约瑟国际学校)分别建立了国际分校,成为新加坡教育发展史上的一大亮点。这三所学校均提供中学教育和中学毕业后教育,以及常春藤名校认可的国际中学会考课程课程。

大学

新加坡目前有五所公立大学 — 新加坡国立大学(NUS), 南洋理工大学(NTU),新加坡管理大学(SMU), 新加坡科技设计大学(SUTD)新加坡科技学院。此外,杜克大学医学院和新加坡国立大学联合创办了杜克-新加坡大学医学研究院,将努力把新加坡打造成一个充满活力的生物医学中心。

许多本地和国际化的专科学院也如雨后春笋般地涌现出来。例如欧洲工商管理学院(INSEAD)等著名商学院; 、拉萨尔艺术学院南洋艺术学院(NAFA)等学院主要提供艺术方面的专业教育;迪吉彭理工学院则专注于提供世界一流的科技教育。

另外,新加坡还创建了许多培训中级专业人才的理工学院,以及承担中学毕业后技术培训的工艺教育学院(ITE)。

您也可以将孩子送进私立学院就读,新加坡共有300多所私立学院可供选择。私立学校提供各式各样的课程,包括语言课程和专业课程。选择私立学院时,请务必确定其是否具有相应的资质。私立教育理事会是在《私立教育法案》下设立的法定机构,拥有管理私立教育行业的立法权。除了作为私立教育机构的管理者,理事会也努力促进业界发展,提升私立教育机构的水平。

想要了解新加坡高校目录,请点击这里

托儿所和幼稚园

在新加坡,很多父母在孩子很小的时候就让他们接受正规或非全日制教育。新加坡建有众多提供学前教育的机构,有的开设正式课程,有的还同时提供幼儿照顾服务,这个服务对于双职工家庭非常有帮助。想要了解新加坡托儿所和幼儿园的目录,请点击这里

特殊教育学校

有特殊需要的孩子可以在特殊教育学校接受特殊教育,特殊教育学校是由教育部和国家社会服务委员会或者其他私人、国际学校出资成立并由义务福利机构管理运营的。

针对不能参加正常主流学校的孩子,特殊教育学校提供了区别教学。其课程旨在帮助这些孩子变得独立,自给自足,给社会做出一些贡献。除了课堂教学之外,这些孩子还受医务辅助人事的额外照顾。

想要了解新加坡特殊教育的信息,请点击这里